Everything’s magical when its snows…

IT SNOWED LAST NIGHT!

Have you seen that episode of the Gilmore Girls where Lorelai is giddy like a five year old when it snows? She can practically taste it when the first snow is just right around the corner and gets excited despite everyone’s eyebrow raises and huffs about how annoying it is?

Screencap from Home of the Nutty
Screencap from homeofthenutty.com | Lorelai Gilmore; Gilmore Girls S1E09

That’s me when it first snows.

Except, unlike Lorelai, I cannot smell it in the air before it comes. I don’t wake up in the middle of the night and go ‘IT’S GOING TO SNOW.’

I wish, that would be pretty awesome, am I right?

But, no matter where I am, I always feel that urge (and normally act on that urge) to run outside and spin around and see if I can get a snowflake to land on my tongue. There’s been many times in which I’ve done just that to the never-ending secondhand embarrassment (and amusement) of some of my coworkers, friends and my Mom.

As soon as I knew it was FOR SURE snowing last night, I had to run out and see what photos I could get.

Needless to say… I didn’t get much and I didn’t last long. It was freezing!

BUT!

I did manage to catch these shots with an appearance by our neighborhood cat my BFF and I have promptly named ‘Fred.’ It’s a strong masculine name for a cat, we think. Thankfully, he had a place he went to after I left so he could be warm through the storm.

He was not a fan of the flash.

I ain't afraid of no snow. Featuring, Fred the Cat.
I ain’t afraid of no snow. Featuring, Fred the Cat.

Although I didn’t get much last night, I did go out this morning to take a walk around the block to see what other photos I could capture. It was peaceful. There were only a couple of other people around (scraping their cars off) and the air was brisk but it felt great.

These shots were a touch better than those from the night before!

As you can see, I most definitely enjoy taking close up shots of things.

Macro1

Macro2

Macro4

Macro5

Macro6

So what about you? Do you enjoy the snow? Dislike it?

It’s a good sign to start off talking about the weather, right?

But no worries, I’ll be back again soon!

Until then, Happy Holidays and I hope everyone has a marvelous week ahead!

signature_amy

6 thoughts on “Everything’s magical when its snows…

    1. It’s ESPECIALLY nice when you don’t have to go anywhere in it!

      I think I hate it when it starts to melt and the sludge gets onto my windshield.

        1. That’s the depressing part of it! 😦 Makes me sad!

          BUT! My neighbors piled all their snow together and wrote ‘Happy Holidays’ on it! It looks pretty cool!

  1. I really enjoyed your photos and your giddiness.

    I admit I do find snow very pretty, but I get sick of it right around January 2nd. Also, I wish snow wasn’t so dangerous to drive in.

    1. DARLING! *hugs you tightly*

      Thank you!

      I know, I do wish it wasn’t as dangerous to drive in as well. Especially when you can’t get out of going some place and the roads are slick. There are some downsides to all the pretty snow. 🙂

      I think I love it most when I don’t have anywhere I HAVE to absolutely go.

Leave a Reply

