Diaries, Journals and Blogs, oh my!

Or, my history with blogging.

Kind of.

I’m no stranger to blogging and/or keeping a journal.

I’ve had one ever since I was a teenager during the early *N’SYNC days.

Only, those entries geared toward things like:

I HAD A DREAM ABOUT JUSTIN TIMBERLAKE LAST NIGHT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I HOPE THIS MEANS WE WILL B MARRRRRRIEEED 1 DAY.

Damn you, Jessica Biel.

Yeah, THOSE days. Disney Concert, anyone?
Yeah, THOSE days. Disney Concert, anyone? Anyone?

The only thing is, I would fill up ten or so pages and forget about it. That is, until I bought a newer and prettier journal and start writing in that one. Yes, I was that kind of person.

Then the vicious (and not to mention wasteful) cycle began. In my defense, I’m kind of obsessed with stationary and journals of all kinds. They’re pretty and look great and I love pens.

I might have a problem.
I might have a problem.

THEN, the Internet came along.

Somewhere between sophomore and junior year of high school, my BFF found a journaling website called UpSaid (now a defunct website). I wrote everything you can imagine a teenager would write about – school, boys, drama (theater drama and…sometimes actual drama) and the weather. Heavily included were spelling errors and grammatical errors.

Who needed proper grammar? Not me, that’s who!

Looking back on it, I’m glad that website has been taken down. Embarrassing.

I stayed there for a little over two years – after the point they started to charge for journal hosting. YOU COULD HAVE POLLS! Because, polls were important. Or something. I never used them but they were an option for paid subscribers!

Then, I cut my losses.

I wanted something bigger and better! As the case always is, right?

This time, that something bigger and better was LiveJournal.

LiveJournal was a whole new ballgame for me and one that I loved and cherished every moment of. Or, at the very least, up until there’s another DDoS attack, or they make changes that people aren’t usually on board with and no one can sign on or do anything.

Technicalities.

I’ve had a LiveJournal since August of 2004 and when I went over to LiveJournal, I told myself that it was going to be different there. My voice, and hopefully my writing, was going to be a little more mature and I was going to find others that had the same interests as I did. I can honestly say, after nearly ten years, that I’ve met so many wonderful and talented people that I’m thankful I went over to LiveJournal. Those are friendships that I plan on keeping for as long as they put up with me (*waves and blows kisses to those who have followed me over*).

I learned a lot through my years on LiveJournal and not just about blogging but about myself and forming friendships and maintaining those friendships with other people from across the country and around the world. People who I greatly admire and some of whom I’ve met in person over the years (and if I haven’t met them yet, I want to).

Now, here we are, on the cusp of 2014, and I’m starting a new chapter of my blogging experience. One that I hope will open my horizons to new things, all the while keeping a healthy balance with work and life in general.

To be honest, I never thought that I would keep something up like a blog. But here I am, ten years later and still going with something new.

I feel Detour from the O.Z will be a blog dedicated to the pieces of my life that are best told in of itself.

A slice of the real life, so to speak.

Initially, I plan to post at least twice a week, more if I have more things to say.

My hope is to continue doing the Weekly Wishes posts (because so far, that’s been fun) and at least one other. Whether that’s a manicure that I do (because what else would I do with over 150 bottles of nail polish sitting around), any sort of creative project that gets done (whether it be graphic design, hand lettering, photography or painting related) or travel-related posts (stories, I have them), I plan to bring a number of different things to the table.

Truth is, I’m interested and get giddy about a number of different things – from TV shows (Hi, Sleepy Hollow), to movies (I think it’s time to watch Inception for the 5,000th time) and snow (see my first post). So, you never know what you may get but I can promise that it will be, at the very least, entertaining.

I mean, who doesn’t love old pictures of *N’SYNC?

What about you? New to the blogging world/journaling world? Had one for a while? What’s your story? Any commiserating tales of looking back on old journal entries and wincing in pain or laughing because they were just THAT bad/good?

signature_amy

9 thoughts on “Diaries, Journals and Blogs, oh my!

  1. My first journal, outside of spastic attempts at a paper one that rival yours (Yes, I like shiny paper journals; why yes, I can always buy this new one! I don’t know when I will use it, but it’s pretty! and I also enjoy stationary), was LJ. I’ve been there about ten years now and don’t plan on letting it go anytime soon. I know it well, despite its flaws and changes, and I don’t want my whining to go on a larger platform where I can’t control it as well. That’s not to say I might not eventually start a writing blog or something elsewhere, like here, but I’m too unreliable for that right now.

    I do wince at some of my old entries. Even some of the more recent whining, but LJ is my outlet, and my place, and my friends, so I suppose I’ll leave those be.

    I have been playing with the idea of starting a blog with my writers’ group, but I honestly don’t know if they’d contribute much. So. There’s that.

    1. I’m glad I’m not the only one when it comes to be unreliable with paper journals! I love writing by hand but… journals…I just never could keep a firm grasp on. I don’t blame you at all for not leaving LJ! I don’t plan on fully leaving LJ – I have too many people over there that I love and adore. But this… guess, I plan on making this a little different than that one. More open/public.

      Hee! I’ve done that. I’ve gone back to old writing and winced. NOT FUN!

      There is definitely that. It’s all about whether there would be other contributions to it other than you. 🙂 How is the writing group going?

      1. Gosh, no, you’re definitely not. Though i’ve found them useful for story snippets and such when I’m on the go. And they’re fun and have an appeal. Probably always will. I think I like online better because I can get feedback, even if it is while I’m spazzing out. The people I’m closest to are there, anyway, so I’ll be around there and on facebook as well, if in a slightly different fashion. Different is good, though, and I’m enjoying your foray so far.

        I have one old story posted on FF.NET that I hate that I wrote, but I can’t bring myself to pull it if only beause it proves to me how far I’ve come. But I wince at the very thought of it.

        Yeah, and I don’t know if I’d get them. Our FB group is sparse enough as is. Group is going all right though. Susan, the lady I edit for, has gotten her novel submitted to the contest and I have plans to start reading her second novel (it’ll be a romance trilogy, Regency era) as she writes it, and then do edits when it is complete. One guy wants me to read his, but I keep putting it off because his style is not my thing, but he’s also already got a publisher interested in it (more power to him, I suppose) as well as a book coming out soon. First officially published fiction for him, and not self published, I believe, though I could be wrong.

        Myself, I’ve not written much but drabbles in a long time, though I have several short stories in the works. I just don’t have the time/energy to work on them most of the time, unfortunately. I miss editing more as well. But oh well. Someday, I hope. We’ll start up our meetings again after the new year, though we had our Xmas get together today, which was fun.

        1. Oh yeah, I agree. Having a notebook of some kind is handy when you want to jot down any sort of ideas for writing or even design/art.

          I hope everything works out for you, hon! Is there a way that he could find another editor? I mean, especially if his writing isn’t your thing…? I mean, that way it’s less trouble for the both of you.

          Hopefully you’ll be able to, someday! I’m keeping my fingers crossed!

  2. I received a number of journals as a kid and like you, I would often fill out 10-20 pages of one and move onto the next. I recently found a lot of those journals and some entries did make me cringe (lots of Backstreet Boy love. N*Sync…not so much.)

    I too have been on Livejournal for 10 years and I love that it’s there. I may not blog every day or every week, but it’s nice to have that. It’s also nice to have the friendships I’ve developed there. I love you, sweetie! So glad we got to meet in person.

    1. It’s good to know that I’m not the only one when it comes to paper journals and online journals. Heee! I used to be into BSB myself but then… the shiny pants and ramen noodle hair came along and… my twelve year old heart was a flutter.

      Hee! It is very nice to have LiveJournal. I love you too, darling! So, SO glad we got to meet in person. Hopefully one day we’ll get to see each other again!

  3. I really think you should do at least one post a week about NSYNC anyway. You could write detailed analyses of their songs starting with their very first track! It would be an amazing venture and I would be on the edge of my seat.

    But you know, a good journal to get would be a sketch journal with thick pages so you can write typefaces and maybe even do some watercolor. 😀 Something like that would really speak to a girl like you!

    1. That would be amazing, wouldn’t it? ALL THE NSYNC PHOTOS AND MUSIC. 😉

      That’s actually a really good idea! I have a sketchbook but I worry the pages are too thin and so if I try to paint in it, it’ll soak through and… that’s not what I’d really want, ultimately. But a better bound sketchbook would be very handy, I admit. We may have to go to Michaels…

Leave a Reply

