Weekly Wishes: #2

Hey, look, it's a Chihuly!
Hey, look, it’s a Chihuly!

A very Happy New Year to everyone!

I truly hope 2013 has treated you well and that 2014 will treat you even better!

This is a little late (considering I posted my first Weekly Wishes post last Tuesday) but yesterday was a busy one. I went to the zoo!

But, better late than never, right?

So how did I do last week?

WEEKLY WISHES #1


.01 Enjoy the time I have off for the holidays.

I did indeed enjoy what time I had off for the holidays. I’ve stayed up late night after night and allowed myself to sleep in until ten and even eleven one morning. It was absolutely wonderful! You know, considering morning after morning I normally get up around 6-6:30 for work and go to bed by 10:30-11 at the latest.

So, not only did I do a bunch of nothing (while feeling maybe a little guilty about said ‘nothing’), I also spent a good amount of time with friends and my Mom. Hanging out, watching some guilty pleasure TV shows (Love It or List It, House Hunters and oh, hi, The O.C. – I’ve forgotten how much I love you) and just enjoyed myself before I head back to work.

.02 Do something creative.

I didn’t paint BUT I did buy some new paintbrushes to do so.

I also did some photography. It’s handy what you can do when your camera isn’t too far away from your hand. Those photos are at the end of this post. One of my goals that I’m going to try and work on this year is to get better at using my camera and shooting in manual mode. I have gotten better in that I haven’t been using ‘auto’ but nonetheless, I know I can get more control if only I applied myself and DID it. Practice makes perfect, yeah?

Instead of some wishes for this next week, this week’s challenge is listing all of our achievements of 2013.

ACHIEVEMENTS OF 2013


1. I lost some weight by just watching what I ate, how much of it and exercise. It’s amazing what that can do sometimes…
2. Participated and finished my first 5K (The Glow Run) with some co-workers. It’s a night time walk/run in the middle of summer in Kansas. How could I resist?
3. Acquired new responsibilities at work, including a bigger focus on Graphic Design which has boosted my confidence. And I told my professors I would never do it as a career. Hah! Work showed me!
4. I continued to work on the person that I am and want to be.
5. I started to wear make-up and learn how to apply it so it looks naturally! Which, if anyone knows me, is a small miracle. The actual wearing make-up part, not the not-naturally part.
6. Made more time to work on my photography skills and my lettering skills.
7. I worked on the friendships that I have and continued to form new friendships with people that I enjoy being around.
8. I took a trip up to Omaha, Nebraska with the best friend for the weekend and didn’t get lost! Also. A, vintage Coach purse. And, Bohemian Cafe. Mm, Czech food? Yes, please.
9. Donated a lot of things I no longer use to the Goodwill and Salvation Army. If I can’t use it any longer, someone else surely can.
10. I cut out soda from my life. Which, has been a tremendous step for me. Not that I drank that much in the first place but now I crave water. Which, I’d say, is a very good thing.

I’m not going to lie, 2013 was a hard one for Mom and I when it came down to it. Making this list though has helped me realize how many good things came out of it and the steps that I’ve taken to be the person that I want to be.

So what about you? Did 2013 treat you well or did you have a hard one? What all are you looking forward to in 2014?

The Nectar Collective

If you haven’t yet, you should join in on the Weekly Wishes linkups! It’s going under a little change with the new year, but still a lot of fun!

IMG_7945_

IMG_7964_

IMG_7994_

IMG_7998_

IMG_8034_

IMG_8224_

IMG_8292_

IMG_8357_

IMG_8360_

IMG_8369_

IMG_8399_

IMG_8437_

IMG_8470_

IMG_8489_

IMG_8550_

signature_amy

10 thoughts on “Weekly Wishes: #2

  1. Oh my goodeness those photos came out so awesome. I especially love the duck one, ha!

    Have a great new year! Let’s all hope 2014 is a far better year for all of us!

    1. Thank you, darling!! I thought they did too! I love the duck one. HAH! Yes.

      YOU TOO! I truly hope it’ll be a better year for all of us because 2013 lacked on so many levels.

        1. It really would! I haven’t yet but I kind of want to. I’d have to figure out what all I need to do in order to do it! I’d love to though! ❀

  2. I love your photos! They look so awesome.

    Way to go on your achievements this year!

    I guess my big achievements were:
    ~Getting healthy and making friends by going to Zumba classes. (First class ever – January 22nd, 2013.)
    ~Auditioning for Rocky Horror Show. (I didn’t get in, but I did sing in front of people for the first time in 10 years and that was pretty awesome.)
    ~Becoming a board member for the Portage Area Community Theater.
    ~Secured a venue for my wedding and reception.
    ~Drove to Iowa by myself and had a great weekend with an LJ friend (Mezz.)

    For 2014…I’m most excited for my wedding day!

    1. AHHHH!! CONGRATS ON YOUR ACCOMPLISHMENTS THIS YEAR TOO!! Your year sounds like it was pretty awesome over all, hon!

      Eeee, I am so excited about your upcoming wedding, darling! What day did you pick out? I would love to see the invitations!

  3. Congratulations on this year’s accomplishments Amy! 2013 did you just great! πŸ™‚
    It’s nice of you to donate your clothes! I should do that too since Ive got a closetful that I don’t even use…
    ❀ You have talent in photography too! I love the couple of last ones you have. Keep it up! πŸ™‚

    majeanta.com

    1. Thank you so much, Mary!
      Hah! A lot of them were t-shirts and jeans that I no longer wear and eventually I get tired of pushing them around or having them just sit there. A lot of the time, they go to my Mom. πŸ˜‰

      Aw! Thanks! I have to admit, those two are my favorites as well. πŸ™‚

  4. You’ve accomplished a lot! Go you!

    I love your pics, they’re beautiful. I think you have great talent.

    I think I accomplished my goals for the week, though less on one than the other. I haven’t formed any for this week, as I’ve started work again and then got overtime unexpectedly put on me yesterday. So I’m tired, dealing with the nosebleeds I’d been wondering if they would happen (yeah, bleh) and all of that. Plus the weather is bleh. So a no stress (ha, no stress, it’ll be stressful, but less stress works) less stress week with no real goals other than to get through it works for me right now.

    1. Thank you, darling! Thank you very much! πŸ™‚

      Even so, I think it sounds like you did awesome! And sometimes, just surviving the work week is a goal in of itself. πŸ™‚ Hopefully it’ll go quick. Nosebleeds aren’t fun at all. Ugh.

Leave a Reply

