Introducing…In a Flash.

Okay, so I don’t normally make resolutions after the New Year.

I’m one of those people who feel it’s important to continue improving throughout the year and not just because it’s the first. The more I read other’s posts about resolutions and lack thereof, the more I realize I’m not the only one who feels this way!

I do have a goal this year though and that’s to become more creative. Not just in terms of my work projects but for my own work and the aspirations I have for myself. Too many times I find myself being burnt out with those projects that I have to do that I don’t make the time to do those that I truly want to do.

One part of that goal is to take a photo every day. Has anyone heard of those 365 Projects? Have you participated before? They have an app on the smartphone and they have one that’s part of a website as well. So far, I’ve been doing both. One because it’s handy on my phone (it’s like uploading to Instagram) and the other is online and pretty handy once I’ve edited a photo or two on my laptop. You can check out my website progress here at 365 Project.

My ultimate goal is learning how to shoot in manual mode and not completely rely on ‘auto’. It’s going to be a slow going process but I think I’m figuring it out!

There are other creative outlets that I want to try my hand at and become more proficient with (read: calligraphy and painting and hand lettering) and hopefully share those with you as well. For now though, photography is one that I can work on every day just by having my camera close at hand.

Which is why I’ve created this series, In a Flash.

It’ll be a weekly (or biweekly/monthly) post of photos taken over that point in time. My hope is that by taking at least a photo every day, that my skills will continue to grow and flourish.

Needless to say, it will probably not be dial-up friendly!

Without further ado (because I have a tendency to ramble), here’s the first posting of In a Flash. 

InaFlash_Banner1

January 1st – 4th, 2014

How’s everyone’s year shaping up so far?

signature_amy

11 thoughts on “Introducing…In a Flash.

  1. I’ve heard of the challenge, but are there rules? I’m curious. It’s something I could see myself attempting at least with my phone for now, since I can’t afford my camera yet. (Might pick your brain sometime on those if you don’t mind?)

    Lovely pics. Glad you’re sharing them.

    1. As far as I know, there aren’t any rules. There are theme challenges week after week but so long as you post a picture a day, that’s the only rule! 🙂

      Yes, you can definitely pick my brain when you want! ❤

      1. Cool. I’ll have to look up the themes, then, and see if I might could keep up, even with my rinky-dink phone and aging point-and-shoot. I’ve been fascinated with photography for a long time, though I’m not terribly good, I suppose.

        I love your stuff. You’re very good.

        Thanks! I appreciate it. I might shoot you an e-mail or a ping sometime soon. I know exactly what I want it to do, but I admit I am NOT up on the technical terms. I’m all self taught on everything, so. I need it to be easy to learn and such. I talked to someone a while back, but having things to refer back to in writing is more helpful to me since my memory sucks massively.

        1. Definitely! There are different ways to find them but I am following their blog through ‘bloglovin’ so it’s pretty handy to see when new themes come up!

          I thought some of the pictures that you’ve shown were really good!

          Please do! I’m always available by email if anything!

          1. Cool, I’ve never seen bloglovin before. I usually follow via RSS feed or subscribe to a specific journal, if it’s outside of LJ. I tried wading through the other challenges and themes section but it looked intimidating, so maybe I’ll just watch that for now.

            Aww thanks! I try.

            Thanks so much!

  2. Oh my God. Lady. LADY.

    These shots are phenomenal. I want the photography walk pictures framed and on my wall, arranged in the way you arranged them. They are GORGEOUS.

    You really have an eye for photography. These are beautiful and I can’t wait to see your skills grow in the new year!

Leave a Reply

