Favorites: the travel edition

favorites_travel

You’re waiting for a train. You don’t know where this train will take you but it doesn’t matter.

Truth be told, I started writing this the night of the 16th, before my Mom and I left on a trip to Flagstaff, Arizona.

As you can tell, it didn’t get done.

It was the first time that either of us have gone to the southwest so it was truly a first adventure for the both of us. And? It was a LOT of fun, but more on that in another post.

Every time I travel, I think of things I can’t live without or want to do without. Of course, this has come to differ between the trip I took overseas vs. the trips I’ve taken within the states. Regardless of the destination, there are a few key items that I try to bring with me.

With that, I thought I would post a top list of my favorite things to pack and bring with me – from the MUST HAVES to the pointless and silly.

SmartphoneCellphone

This one is a must have for me (and I’m sure other cellphone-addicted people).

Not only does it keep me connected with the world just in case I run off the side of the road or hit a deer, but it also acts as my GPS (I’ve been using GPS Drive, a voice I like to call Julie, a lot), my music player (hello Spotify, my old friend) and a great (and quick) camera. Just can’t forget the chargers!

Camera

Camera

As you can tell from my blog, I love my camera. Oscar has been a very welcomed friend this year as I embarked on my mission to learn more about his functionality and learning to shoot effectively in manual mode. From landscapes, sunsets, street art and people – it’s always on point! Just can’t forget the back up batteries (and chargers) and multiple memory cards!

Nail File

When I get stressed (or bored) I tend to bite my nails. It’s a nasty habit that was only stopped when I started painting my nails. When they’re not painted, they can get a little mistreated. Thus, a nail file will always be packed away in a suitcase somewhere for those days when they get too jagged and need a smooth over. Besides that, you never know when you may have use for one besides the obvious.

My favorites are the glass/crystal nail files. Both OPI and Essie have them available.

The Trip Mascot

PeacockMicrobe

 

 

 

 

 

 

This started as a joke between my best friend Sarah (over at beauty-bitch.net) and I. Long story short, she bought a stuffed peacock from the local zoo gift shop and brought it along on one of our road trips. Since then? He’s been a constant feature on both short and long trips the two of us take. Recently on our Omaha trip, he was joined by our new buddy, Cholera the Giant Microbe.

Lanyard

I will be the first to tell you, I have probably locked my keys in my car over a half dozen (or more) times. This is a problem. Especially when I’m out of town and on the occasion that I’m in a rental car and I’m distracted. It’s not fun having to wait for someone to come and let me into my car so I can get my keys out. Thankfully, those who have been (un)fortunate to come to my rescue have done so nicely enough.

I eventually learned that if I have keys on a lanyard, I’m less inclined to misplace them or leave them in a car. Sometimes, it takes more than once to learn this lesson.

Sweater

Not only is it good to have one around in case it rains or it gets cold (as sometimes happens), but you can also use sweaters to mix up outfits and even use them as a pillow. I never leave without one close by, just in case.

Sleep mask

Before my recent trip to England and Ireland, I never had use for a sleep mask. Since then, however with the long flight over, I’ve become a firm believer in them. Especially if you prefer complete darkness and you’re in an airplane cabin or train where there’s some sort of light always on. They are very handy and don’t require much space.

Books

Even if I never touch it, I always have some book with me in case I get a free moment. On my recent trip to Arizona, I read Four in two days because I had some time to kill as Mom and I waited for our flight. It almost made up for the cluster fuck that is Allegiant.

Almost.

My favorites on vacation are those that are easy to escape into and don’t require much serious thought. When I’m on vacation, I’m on vacation and I greatly enjoy the throwaway novels.

Lip Gloss / Chapstick

Lipgloss

I love lip gloss, lipstick and chapstick more than anything. I probably have at least three/four (or more) in my purse at any given time. Meaning, I also bring them on trips with me in case my lips get chapped (naturally) or I want a little pop or shimmer. Naturally they’re small so they’re easy to pack and hardly take up much space.

NOT ADDED TO THE LIST: The laptop and a handful of scarves. Normally, I opt to bring my laptop with me just in case I run out of room on a memory card and need to transfer photos over. Scarves, like sweaters, help mix up outfits and help keep your neck warm if you’re in a colder environment.

What about you? Anything you would add and/or leave off? Sound off!
signature_amy

4 thoughts on “Favorites: the travel edition

  1. There are people that even leave the house without a book? I’m proud to say I even turned Jonathon into a good little geek who always has a book with him. Last time he was here he was reading an iBook on his phone, a kindle book on his kindle, and a paper book, because reading just one story is boring. I taught him so well and the last five years mostly with his mother didn’t undo it. 😀

    1. LOL! There are some, yes. 😉 Lately, I’ve been taking to bringing a book along with me. I have so many that I want to read/finish reading! You have DEFINITELY taught Jonathon well!!! It’s good to have started them young. 😀

  2. I definitely always bring a book with me. It doesn’t matter if it’s a hardcover, paperback, or kindle.

    What I don’t have is a smartphone. I still own a flip phone with a terrible camera, but I get good reception most places and it makes calls so that’s a win.

    1. A flip phone is just as good! Especially since it does just what it needs to do – make phone calls and you get reception! ❤ Sometimes, I really miss my flip phone because there was something REALLY nice about slamming a phone shut when you're upset. 🙂

Leave a Reply

